The Beauty And The Controversy

The Miss American Pageant has always fascinated me. Being the youngest of three rather ‘girly’ sisters, I was always around proms, cotillions, formals, weddings, ect. Since I do not have much time for TV these days, I missed this past Miss America Pageant. However, the next morning I was caught up to speed on what I had missed:

This was such a bold move made by Miss California’s Carrie Prejean. It turned out to work in her favor, as she placed 1st runner up. I must admit I’m proud of her. She made her opinion known in a tasteful way, trying not to offend anyone. She didn’t sugarcoat her beliefs or force them onto anyone. Prejean simply stood up and defended what she believed when she was asked about it. It’s an admirable quality.

She received mixed reviews on her response to Perez Hilton’s question. Despite the negative feedback, the Miss California USA team stands behind their leading lady:

“I am proud of Carrie Prejean’s beauty and placement at the 2009 MISS USA pageant. I support Carrie’s right to express her personal beliefs even if they do not coincide with my own. I believe the subject of gay marriage deserves a great deal more conversation in order to heal the divide it has created.”
-Keith Lewis; Co-Executive Director K2 Productions, MISS CALIFORNIA USA and MISS CALIFORNIA TEEN USA.

2 Comments

Filed under PR Connections

2 responses to “The Beauty And The Controversy

  1. lebowers15

    I agree! She stated her opinion with poise and didn’t try to offend anyone. Your own opinion is supposed to be what you think about a topic.. So why stretch the truth to win? I may not have agreed with her answer, but I was proud that she stood by her beliefs!

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Lindsey Bowers’s Blog

Leave a Reply

