“It might be a quarterlife crisis…or just the stirring in my soul…”

We’ve all been there before. That immediate gut-wrenching, heart-pounding, sleepless night type situation.
There hasn’t been a tragic occurence in your life.
Your family is safe and healthy. Your friends are carrying on with business as usual. Nothing in your life should be robbing you of rest.
No one watching from the outside might be able to even tell anything different about you.
But you can. You can feel something on the horizon. Change is imminent and you are faced with two choices:
You can let it cage you, or let it ignite your bones. (As Coldplay would say…)
I imagine this is something like what Jeremiah felt like when God first called him…

Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth. See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build up and to plant.”
-Jeremiah 1:9-10

Uprooting, tearing down, rebuilding, planting…all require an action. All require a change from our ordinary into God’s extraordinary.

So I constantly find myself asking, am I standing safely unchanged in my self-made cage, or am I letting my God driven calling change my course?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

